

Vienna Convention on Civil Liability for Nuclear Damage

Notes: The Convention was adopted on 21 May 1963 and entered into force on 12 November 1977 in accordance with Article XXIII. For States depositing an instrument expressing consent to be bound after that date, the Convention enters into force three months after such deposit, in accordance with Articles XXIII and XXIV, paragraph 3.

Parties:47 (subject toSignatories:13	to date of entry in	nto force)	Last change of status: 29 April 2025		
Country/Organization	Signature	Instrument	Date of deposit	Declaration et / Withdrawal	c. Entry into force
[×] Argentina	10 Oct 1966	ratification	25 Apr 1967		12 Nov 1977
Armenia		accession	24 Aug 1993		24 Nov 1993
× Belarus	27 May 1997	ratification	09 Feb 1998		09 May 1998
[×] Benin		accession	18 Sep 2019		18 Dec 2019
Bolivia, Plurinational State of		accession	10 Apr 1968		12 Nov 1977
^{1,x} Bosnia and Herzegovina		succession	30 Jun 1998		01 Mar 1992
Brazil		accession	26 Mar 1993		26 Jun 1993
Bulgaria		accession	24 Aug 1994		24 Nov 1994
Cameroon		accession	06 Mar 1964		12 Nov 1977
Chile	18 Aug 1988	ratification	23 Nov 1989		23 Feb 1990
Colombia	21 May 1963				
¹ Croatia		succession	29 Sep 1992		08 Oct 1991
Cuba	10 Dec 1964	ratification	25 Oct 1965		12 Nov 1977
Czech Republic		accession	24 Mar 1994		24 Jun 1994
Egypt	19 Aug 1965	ratification	05 Nov 1965		12 Nov 1977
El Salvador		accession	22 Mar 2024		22 Jun 2024
Estonia		accession	09 May 1994		09 Aug 1994
^x Ghana		accession	30 Jul 2020		30 Oct 2020
Hungary		accession	28 Jul 1989		28 Oct 1989
Israel	19 Aug 1997				
^x Jordan		accession	27 Jan 2014		27 Apr 2014
^x Kazakhstan		accession	29 Mar 2011		29 Jun 2011
^x Latvia		accession	15 Mar 1995		15 Jun 1995
Lebanon	19 Sep 1995	ratification	17 Apr 1997		17 Jul 1997
Lithuania		accession	15 Sep 1992		15 Dec 1992
Mauritius		accession	15 Apr 2013		15 Jul 2013
Mexico		accession	25 Apr 1989		25 Jul 1989
2,x Montenegro		succession	21 Mar 2007		03 Jun 2006
× Morocco	30 Nov 1984	ratification	06 May 2022		06 Aug 2022

Vienna Convention on Civil Liability for Nuclear Damage

		-			
Country/Organization	Signature	Instrument	Date of deposit	Declaration et / Withdrawal	c. Entry into force
× Niger		accession	24 Jul 1979		24 Oct 1979
Nigeria		accession	04 Apr 2007		04 Jul 2007
¹ North Macedonia		succession	08 Apr 1994		08 Sep 1991
Peru		accession	26 Aug 1980		26 Nov 1980
Philippines	21 May 1963	ratification	15 Nov 1965		12 Nov 1977
^x Poland		accession	23 Jan 1990		23 Apr 1990
Republic of Moldova		accession	07 May 1998		07 Aug 1998
^x Romania		accession	29 Dec 1992		29 Mar 1993
Russian Federation	08 May 1996	ratification	13 May 2005		13 Aug 2005
Rwanda		accession	19 Sep 2019		19 Dec 2019
Saint Vincent and the Grena	adines	accession	18 Sep 2001		18 Dec 2001
[×] Saudi Arabia		accession	17 Mar 2011		17 Jun 2011
Senegal		accession	24 Dec 2008		24 Mar 2009
³ Serbia		succession	05 Feb 2002		27 Apr 1992
Slovakia		accession	07 Mar 1995		07 Jun 1995
Spain	06 Sep 1963				
Trinidad and Tobago		accession	31 Jan 1966		12 Nov 1977
Tunisia		accession	29 Apr 2025		29 Jul 2025
Ukraine		accession	20 Sep 1996		20 Dec 1996
United Kingdom	11 Nov 1964				
^x Uruguay		accession	13 Apr 1999		13 Jul 1999
× Zimbabwe		accession	25 Sep 2023	$\Box \Box$	25 Dec 2023

x State also party to the 1997 Protocol to Amend the Vienna Convention on Civil Liability for Nuclear Damage.

1 The socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia had signed and ratified the Convention on 21 May 1963 and 12 August 1977, respectively.

2 The Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia had signed and ratified the Convention on 15 July 1980 and 14 May 1986, respectively. The Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (Serbia and Montenegro) had notified the Depositary of its succession to the Convention with effect from 27 April 1992.

3 The Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (SFRY) had signed and ratified the Convention on 15 July 1980 and 14 May 1986, respectively. On 28 April 1992 the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (Serbia and Montenegro) notified the Depositary that it intended to "continue to fulfil all the rights conferred and obligations assumed by the SFRY in international relations", including "participation in international treaties ratified or acceded to by Yugoslavia." Subsequently, on 5 February 2002 the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia deposited a notification of succession to the Convention, with effect from 27 April 1992. On 2 July 2006 the Republic of Serbia notified the Depositary that it intended "to continue to exercise its rights and honour its commitments deriving from international treaties concluded by Serbia and Montenegro."

4 On 7 July 1992, the Republic of Slovenia had deposited a notification of succession to the Convention, with effect from 25 June 1991. On 9 November 2001, the Republic of Slovenia notified the Depositary of the termination of application of the Convention. Pursuant to Article XXV.2, the Convention ceased to apply to Slovenia as of 12 November 2002.