Statement to be delivered by Ambassador Min Thein, Permanent Representative of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar at the International Conference on Nuclear Security: Shaping the Future

(21 May 2024, Vienna)

Co-Presidents,

Excellencies and delegates,

I, firstly, wish to join the previous speakers in expressing our condolences on the demise of the President and the Foreign Minister of the Islamic Republic of Iran during the tragic incident of helicopter crash.

I congratulate Co-Presidents of the Fourth International Conference on Nuclear Security, and assure you of our full support and cooperation.

We extend our appreciation to Director General Mr. Rafael Grossi and the secretariat for organizing this important Conference.

My delegation aligns itself with the Joint Statement presented by the Co-Presidents at the opening of the Ministerial Segment of the Conference.

Co-Presidents,

All Member States, including Myanmar, are responsible for nuclear security within their respective sovereign territories in accordance with their national and international obligations.

It is our firm belief that Member States' nuclear security measures contribute not only international peace and security but also enhance public

confidence in the peaceful use of nuclear applications in implementing sustainable development in respective countries.

To support the global nuclear security and to fulfill the international obligations, Myanmar adopted legally binding and non-binding international instruments and guidelines to obligate its commitments.

Myanmar acceded to the Convention on Physical Protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) and its Amendment in 2017 and has made political commitment for the Code of Conduct on Safety and Security of Radioactive Sources. The Terrorism Law enacted in Myanmar in 2014 also stipulates nuclear security measures which are based on UN Security Council Resolution 1540.

The Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) of Myanmar serves as the regulatory body and is responsible for all aspects of control, security and safe management of radioactive materials used in Myanmar.

There are no nuclear facilities or related activities in Myanmar until now. On the other hand, the peaceful use of nuclear technology involving radioisotopes and radiation apparatus has increased a lot in various sectors within a decade.

Co-Presidents,

We recognize IAEA's efforts to strengthen the global nuclear safety, security, and non-proliferation by preventing the use of nuclear material and facilities for non-peaceful purposes. Myanmar is also exerting its efforts in all possible ways in strengthening its national nuclear safety and security infrastructures to be in line with international standards and its commitments, including for the use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes.

The Integrated Nuclear Security Support Plan (INSSP) for Myanmar was approved in 2015. IAEA conducted a review mission on the current INSSP to address implementation gaps and provided necessary assistance to Myanmar that helps improve our national nuclear security policy and strategy.

Myanmar joined the Agency's Incident and Trafficking Database (ITDB) in 2022 and is actively participating in the global plan to fight against nuclear terrorism and the anti-illicit nuclear trafficking program.

Myanmar has participated in the IAEA's coordinated research project relating to application of nuclear detection techniques and equipment since 2022. Under the project, Myanmar security team has established an initial baseline of system performance and conducted detection activities of illicit trafficking of nuclear, radioactive materials and other commercial fraud at the Yangon International Airport and three seaports in Yangon.

We are grateful to the international community and IAEA for their previous and ongoing technical assistance to Myanmar in the field of nuclear security.

To conclude, I wish to reiterate Myanmar's commitment to sustain and strengthen effective and comprehensive nuclear security of all nuclear and other radioactive material and facilities.

I thank you, Co-Presidents.