26-30 May 2025



Tuesday, 27 May 2025

Nuclear Communities and Mayors in Focus

13:30 - 14:00 | Family photo (mayors only)

14:00 - 14:05 | Opening video

14:05 – 14:20 | Introductory speech by the IAEA Director General

14:20 – 15:30 | Remarks from Nuclear Communities' Associations and Local Governments

- Mr Gerben Dijksterhuis, Mayor of Borsele, Chair of the Group of European Municipalities with Nuclear Facilities (GMF)
- Ms Suzanne D'Eon, Mayor of Deep River, Vice Chair of the Canadian Association of Nuclear Host Communities (CANHC), Canada
- Mr Huang Mingguan, Director General of Department of System Engineering of CAEA and Representative of the Nuclear Community of China, China
- Mr Zoltán Szalonna, Mayor of Véménd, Social Oversight and Information Association (TETT), Hungary
- Ms Liudmila Danilova, Vice President of the "Association of Indigenous Peoples of Chukotka", Russian Federation
- Mr D. Juan Pedro Sánchez, Mayor of Yebra, President of the Association of Municipalities in Nuclear Areas (AMAC), Spain
- Mr David Moore, Chair of the Nuclear Legacy Advisory Forum (Nuleaf), United Kingdom
- Ms Rebecca Casper, Vice President of the Energy Communities Alliance (ECA), Mayor of the City of Idaho Falls, United States of America
- Mr Yoshinori Yamaquchi, Governor of Saga Prefecture, Japan (video message)
- Mr Cheol-Woo Lee, Governor of Gyengsangbuk-do Province, Republic of Korea (video message)

15:30 – 18:00 | Mayors' statements (in alphabetical order by country)

for Nuclear Power Programmes

26-30 May 2025
Vienna, Austria



Argentina

- Mr Celso Jaque, Mayor of Malargüe
- Mr Mario Rivarola, Mayor, Municipality of Embalse

Bangladesh

- Mr Subir Kumra Das, Upazila Nirbahi Officer, Pabna District
- Mr Mohammad Mofizul Islam, Deputy Commissioner, Pabna District

Belgium

• Mr Kris Van Dijck, Mayor of Dessel, Member of the European Parliament

Canada

- Ms Kimberly Baigrie, Mayor of Ignace
- Mr Kenneth Craig, Mayor of Kincardine
- Ms Suzanne D'Eon, Mayor of Deep River

China

- Mr Zhu Hailong, Vice Mayor of Maoming Municipal People's Government, Guangdong Province
- Mr Zheng Yuewen, Mayor of Rongcheng Municipal People's Government, Shandong Province

Finland

- Mr Tomas Björkroth, Mayor of Loviisa
- Mr Vesa Lakaniemi, Mayor of Eurajoki

France

• Mr Bertrand Ringot, Mayor of Gravelines

India

- Ms Ujawala Kale, Mayor of Nagaradhyaksh Palghar
- Ms Deepti Mittal, Municipal Chairperson of Bulandshahr District

for Nuclear Power Programmes Vienna, Austria

26-30 May 2025



Kazakhstan

• Mr Bolat Abdraliyev, Mayor of Kurchatov City

Lithuania

• Mr Erlandas Galaguz, Mayor of Visaginas Municipality

Namibia

• Mr Blasius Goraseb, Mayor of Swakopmund

The Netherlands

• Mr Gerben Dijksterhuis, Mayor of Borsele

Norway

Mr Fredrik Holm, Mayor of Halden

Russian Federation

• Mr Andrei Zakhartsev, Head of Zarechny Municipal District

Slovak Republic

Mr Igor Gogora, Mayor of Kalná nad Hronom

South Africa

• Mr William Matsheke, Executive Mayor, Rand West City Local Municipality

Spain

- Mr Juan Antonio Díaz Agraz, Mayor of Almaraz
- Mr D. Juan Pedro Sánchez, Mayor of Yebra (AMAC President)
- Mr Jorge Peña García, Mayor of Trillo
- Mr Miquel Angel Ribes i Jornet, Mayor of Ascó

Sweden

• Mr Fabian Sjöberg, Municipal Commissioner of Östhammars Kommun

26-30 May 2025



Türkiye

• Mr Fatih Önge, Mayor of Gülnar

Ukraine

- Mr Yurii Fomichev, Mayor of Slavutych
- Mr Oleksandr Menzul, Mayor of Varash

United Kingdom

- Mr Struan Mackie, Councillor of Dounreay
- Mr Paul Thomas, District Councillor for New Romney, Folkestone & Hythe District Council

United States of America

- Ms Rebecca Casper, Mayor of the City of Idaho Falls
- Mr JJ Chavez, Mayor Pro Tem, City of Carlsbad
- Mr Casey Hancock, Mayor of the City of Hartsville
- Mr Randall Ryti, Mayor of Los Alamos

26-30 May 2025



