

International Atomic Energy Agency

Distr.
GENERAL
GC(IV)/127
21 September 1960

ENGLISH

Original:

General Conference

Fourth regular session

Item 20 of the provisional agenda (GC(IV)/109)

ELECTION OF MEMBERS TO THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Report by the General Committee

1. Rule 86 of the Rules of Procedure stipulates that the General Committee shall determine the number of elective places which must be filled on the Board of Governors so as to ensure that, after the end of the session, the Board shall include ten Members elected by the General Conference. The General Committee accordingly notifies the General Conference, at a meeting held on 20 September 1960, that it determined that five Members must be elected to the Board during the present session in order to satisfy the requirements of Rule 83. In this connection the General Committee invites attention to the last provision in Article VI.A.3 of the Statute, which stipulates that

"....no member in this category \(\int \) of Members elected to the Board by the General Conference \(\int \) in any one term of office will be eligible for re-election in the same category for the following term of office."

- 2. Rule 86 further provides that the General Committee shall specify each geographical area in respect of which an election is required to ensure that, after the end of the session, the Board shall include a Member elected by the General Conference from each geographical area, except North America, specified in Rule 83. In compliance with this provision, the General Committee hereby specifies that elections are required in respect of two geographical areas:
 - (a) Africa and the Middle East; and
 - (b) South-East Asia and the Pacific.
- 3. In view of the requirements in Rule 83 that the General Conference shall conduct the elections with due regard to equitable representation on the Board as a whole of the Members in the geographical areas specified in that Rule,

GC(IV)/127 page 2

it may wish to have before it the following list of Members that have already been designated by the Board or elected by the General Conference to serve on the Board after the end of the present session:

Australia Mexico
Belgium Philippines
Brazil Poland

Bulgaria Spain

Ceylon Union of Soviet Socialist Republics
Finland United Kingdom of Great Britain and

Union of South Africa

France Northern Ireland

India United States of America

Japan

Canada

^{1/} See GC(III)/118.

^{2/} See GC(III)/RESOLUTIONS, page 14.