



International Atomic Energy Agency

26 September 1968 GENERAL Distr. Original: ENGLISH

GC(XII)/391

General Conference

Twelfth regular session Agenda item 12 (GC(XII)/390

ELECTION OF MEMBERS TO THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Report of the General Committee

1. Rule 86 of the Rules of Procedure¹ requires the General Committee to determine the number of elective places on the Board of Governors which must be filled by the General Conference so as to ensure compliance with the provisions of Article VI.A.3 of the Statute. The Committee accordingly notifies the Conference that it has determined that five Members must be elected to the Board during the present session. In this connection, the Committee invites attention to the last provision in the Article, which stipulates that

".... no member in the category / of members elected to the Board by the General Conference /in any one term of office s'all be eligible for re-election in the same category for the following term of office."

2. Rule 86 further requires the General Committee to specify the geographical areas in respect of which a Member or Members must be elected so as to ensure that after the end of the session the Board shall include three Members each elected by the Conference from the areas of Latin America and of Africa and the Mildle East, and one Member from each of the remaining areas, except North America, specified in Rule 83. In compliance with this provision, the Committee hereby specifies that elections are required at the current session in respect of three geographical areas, as follows:

l/ GC(VII)/INF/60.

^{2/} The Members to which this provision at present applies are Brazil, the Federal Republic of Germany, Indonesia, Lebanon and Mexico - see document GC(X)/RESOLUTIONS, Other Decisions, decision number GC(X)/DEC/9, and Article VI.D of the Statute.

3. In view of the provision in Rule 83 that the Conference shall conduct the elections with due regard to equitable representation on the Board as a whole of the Members in the geographical areas specified in that Rule, it may wish to have before it the following list of Members that have already been elected by the Conference³ or designated by the Board⁴ to serve on the Board after the end of the present session:

Algeria	Madagascar
Australia	Peru
Bəlgium	Philippines
Brazil	Poland
Bulgaria	South Africa
Canada	Turkey
Ceylon	Union of Soviet Socialist Republics
Finland	
France	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
India	United States of America
Japan	

^{3/} See document GC(XI)/RESOLUTIONS, Other Decisions, decision number GC(XI)/DEC/8.

^{4/} GC(XII)/379.