



GC(XXXII)/857 22 September 1988

GENERAL Distr.
Original : ENGLISH

International Atomic Energy Agency

## GENERAL CONFERENCE

Thirty-second regular session Agenda item 8 (GC(XXXII)/856)

## ELECTION OF MEMBERS TO THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

## Memorandum by the President

- 1. Rule 83 of the Rules of Procedure of the General Conference 1/ provides that before the Conference at each regular session proceeds to elections to the Board of Governors, their presiding officer shall indicate to it those elective places on the Board which must be filled so as to ensure that after the end of the session the Board will be constituted in accordance with Article VI.A of the Statute.
- 2. The President accordingly informs the Conference that at the current session it will be called upon to elect 11 Members to the Board 2/ as follows:
  - . (a) Three Members from Latin America;
    - (b) Two Members from Western Europe;
    - (c) One Member from Eastern Europe;
    - (d) Two Members from Africa;
    - (e) One Member from the Middle East and South Asia;
    - (f) One Member from South East Asia and the Pacific;
    - (g) One Member from Africa; the Middle East and South Asia; or South East Asia and the Pacific [the so called "floating seat"].

<sup>1/</sup> GC(XXXI)/INF/245.

Z/ To replace Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Iraq, Ireland, Madagascar, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia, Switzerland, Thailand and Venezuela (see document GC(XXX)/RESOLUTIONS (1986), Other Decisions, decision number GC(XXX)/DEC/8).

- 3. In accordance with Rule 84 of the Rules of Procedure, the number of elective places in each geographical area or group of areas is specified on the ballot papers which will be distributed to delegates during the elections.
- 4. Delegates may find it convenient to have before them the names of the 24 Members that have either been designated by the Board 3/ or previously elected by the Conference 4/ to serve on the Board after the end of this session:

Australia Japan

Brazil Korea, Republic of

Canada Kuwait

China Libyan Arab Jamahiriya

Columbia Senegal

Cuba Spain

Egypt Switzerland

France Turkey

Germany, Federal Republic of Union of Soviet Socialist Republics

Hungary United Kingdom of Great Britain and

Northern Ireland

India United States of America

Indonesia Yugoslavia

<sup>3/</sup> GC(XXXII)/839.

<sup>4/</sup> GC(XXXI)/RESOLUTIONS(1987), Other Decisions, decision number GC(XXXI)/DEC/9.