



GC(42)/21 23 September 1998

GENERAL Distr. Original: ENGLISH

International Atomic Energy Agency GENERAL CONFERENCE

Forty-second regular session Agenda item 8 (GC(42)/20)

## **ELECTION OF MEMBERS TO THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS**

## Memorandum by the President

1. Rule 83 of the Rules of Procedure of the General Conference<sup>U</sup> provides that before the Conference at each regular session proceeds to elections to the Board of Governors, the presiding officer shall indicate to it those elective places on the Board which must be filled so as to ensure that after the end of the session the Board will be constituted in accordance with Article VI.A. of the Statute.

2. The President accordingly informs the Conference that at the current session it will be called upon to elect 11 members to the Board<sup>2'</sup> as follows:

- (a) Three members from Latin America;
- (b) Two members from Western Europe;
- (c) One member from Eastern Europe;
- (d) Two members from Africa;
- (e) One member from the Middle East and South Asia;
- (f) One member from South East Asia and the Pacific;
- (g) One member from Africa; or the Middle East and South Asia; or South East Asia and the Pacific (the so-called "floating seat").

For reasons of economy, this document has been printed in a limited number. Delegates are kindly requested to bring their copies of documents to meetings.

 $<sup>\</sup>frac{1}{2}$  GC(XXXI)/INF/245/Rev.1.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2/</sup> To replace Argentina, Belgium, Colombia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Malaysia, Namibia, New Zealand, Portugal, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates (see document GC(40)/RESOLUTIONS(1996), decision number GC(40)/DEC/9).

GC(42)/21 page 2

3. The attention of delegates is drawn to the 24 Member States listed below, which will serve as members of the Board until the end of the forty-third regular session (1999), as a result either of their previous election by the General Conference in  $1997^{3/}$  or their designation by the Board of Governors in June  $1998^{4/}$ .

Argentina	Republic of Korea
Australia	Mexico
Belgium	Morocco
Canada	Pakistan
China	Peru
France	Russian Federation
Germany	Slovenia
Ghana	South Africa
Hungary	Sweden
India	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Italy	United States of America
Japan	Viet Nam

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3/</sup> GC(41)/RES/DEC(1997), decision number GC(41)/DEC/9.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4/</sup> GC(42)/9.