

General Conference

GC(68)/INF/9

Date: 13 September 2024

General Distribution

Original: English

Sixty-eight regular session

Report on Measures Taken to Facilitate Payment of Contributions and Status Report on Member States Participating in a Payment Plan

Report by the Director General

A. Background

- 1. At the 67th regular session of the General Conference, the Secretariat reported on actions taken on the restoration of voting rights for the year 2023.
- 2. The purpose of this document is to provide Member States with updated information on actions taken by the Secretariat to promote and facilitate payment of contributions since the 67th regular session of the General Conference, and to provide a status report on Member States currently participating in a payment plan.

B. Actions Taken

- 3. On 16 February 2024, the Secretariat sent letters to Member States which had no voting rights in the IAEA during 2024, informing them of the minimum amount they would have to pay in order to regain the right to vote. The attention of those Member States was drawn to the relevant article of the Statute of the Agency and the possibility to conclude a payment plan was pointed out. In response to those letters, eight Member States paid the minimum amount required for the restoration of their voting rights.
- 4. Reminder letters were sent on 2 July 2024 urging Member States to take action in order to regain their right to vote.

- 5. A final reminder was sent by email on 22 July 2024 to those Member States without voting rights; 6 Member States subsequently paid the minimum amount required by Article XIX.A of the Statute to regain their voting rights.
- 6. In August 2023, the Dominican Republic and the Agency agreed to a 10-year payment plan for their regular budget arrears. The Dominican Republic's voting rights in the Agency were restored until the end of its respective payment plan, on the understanding that they continued to meet the requirement of its payment plan. Dominican Republic has paid the amounts necessary to meet the requirements of the payment plan in 2024 and therefore has voting rights.
- 7. To date, 22 Member States¹ have no voting rights in the Agency.

¹ Antigua and Barbuda, Plurinational State of Bolivia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Congo, Gabon, Guatemala, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Mozambique, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Panama, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Trinidad and Tobago, Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela and Yemen.