

## Information Circular

INFCIRC/982 Date: 25 March 2022

**General Distribution** Original: English

# Communication dated 24 March 2022 received from the Permanent Mission of the United States of America concerning a Joint Proposal to the IAEA to convene further CPPNM as amended Review Conferences

1. The Secretariat has received a communication dated 24 March 2022 from the Permanent Mission of the United States of America on behalf of Albania, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, EURATOM, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Poland, Portugal, the Republic of Korea, the Republic of Moldova, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States of America, requesting the Secretariat to bring the communication and its attachment to the attention of all IAEA Member States.

2. As requested, the communication and its attachment are herewith circulated for the information of all Member States.

### NOTE VERBALE

#### 029/2022

The Permanent Mission of the United States to the International Organizations in Vienna presents its compliments to the Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), and has the honor to present the attached joint proposal, on behalf of Albania, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, EURATOM, Finland, France, Germany, Georgia, Ghana, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States, thus reflecting a communique from States Parties to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material, as amended, and to request that the IAEA Director General circulate this note verbale and the attached joint proposal via an INFCIRC document to all IAEA Member States.

The Permanent Mission of the United States of America to International Organizations in Vienna avails itself of the opportunity to renew to the International Atomic Energy Agency the assurances of its highest consideration.

United States Mission to International Organizations in Vienna

March 24, 2022,

Vienna, Austria.



### JOINT PROPOSAL TO THE IAEA TO CONVENE FURTHER CPPNM AS AMENDED REVIEW CONFERENCES

We, as States Parties to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material, as amended (the Amended Convention), see the benefit of holding future conferences of States Parties as a means to review the implementation and adequacy of the Amended Convention in the light of the then prevailing situation, and as a forum for sharing good practices, lessons learned, and challenges associated with universalization and implementation of the Amended Convention. Therefore, we the undersigned – representing States Parties to the Amended Convention – hereby request, under Article 16.2 of the Amended Convention, that the Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), as the despositary, convene the next conference of States Parties at IAEA Headquarters in Vienna, Austria no later than six years after the first Review Conference, taking into consideration the timing of other major nuclear security conferences and other significant IAEA events.

Albania, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Republic of Cyrpus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, EURATOM, Finland, France, Germany, Georgia, Ghana, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States