## ATOMS FOR PEACE AWARDS

In making their annual selection for 1968 the Atoms for Peace Award Trust has paid signal tribute to the Agency. Each of the three recipients has for many years contributed to its work.

Sigvard Eklund, Abdus Salam and Henry DeWolf Smyth received their gold medallion and \$30 000 honorarium at a ceremony in New York on 14 October this year. All of them have achieved high distinction in science, but their greatest efforts have been to make the world aware of the benefits to be gained from using nuclear knowledge for peace, health and prosperity.

A native of Sweden, Dr. Sigvard Eklund received his Ph.D. from the University of Uppsala. He began his scientific career at the Nobel Institute for Physics in Stockholm. From 1946-1950, he worked as Senior Scientist at the Research Institute for National Defence in Stockholm. He was for ten years a member of the technical physics faculty at the Royal Institute of Technology, and in 1950 was appointed Director of Research and Deputy to the Managing Director of AB Atomenergi in Stockholm, and from 1957-1961 was Director of the Reactor Development Division in the same company.

Dr. Eklund was a pioneer in reactor development, and, under his direction, the first Swedish research reactor was build and started in 1954. It was one of the first to be built outside the present major nuclear powers. In 1958, he was Secretary-General of the Second UN International Conference on the Peaceful Uses of Atomic Energy in Geneva.

He was named Director General of the Agency in 1961. Since then the Agency has developed and put into practice international safeguards against the diversion of peaceful nuclear activities to military purposes. The confidence placed in this system was demonstrated this year by the signature of the Non-Proliferation Treaty, the control functions of which have been entrusted to the Agency.

He is a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences and this year he was named honorary Doctor of Philosophy by the University of Graz.

Abdus Salam, whose name means "Servant of Peace", has applied much of his almost unlimited energy in recent years to the International Centre for Theoretical Physics in Trieste, inaugurated largely through his initiative in 1964. His aim has been to provide a centre where the latest ideas in physics can be examined by scientists from all nations, and at the same time to create a means of enabling scientist from developing countries to maintain contact with current knowledge without having to leave their home countries permanently — one method of limiting the "brain drain" from developing to advanced countries. The outstanding success of his project was acknowledged at a gathering this year in Trieste of many of the world's leading physicists. On that occasion the whole range of modern physics was reviewed. In furthering the cause of peace Professor Salam's success in arranging collaborative work between distinguished scientists of many countries has been a significant contribution to the cause of peace.

Born in West Pakistan, he started his academic career by gaining first place in the Punjab University Matriculation at the age of 20, followed by a Double First at St. John's College, Cambridge, in 1949. He was an elected Fellow at St. John's for six years while also serving as a Professor in Lahore and then as a lecturer at Cambridge. Since 1957 he has occupied the Chair of Theoretical Physics at Imperial College, London, was a scientific secretary at the first two Geneva Conferences on the Peaceful Uses of Atomic Energy, is a member of the UN Advisory Committee on Science and Technology, is Scientific Adviser to the President of Pakistan, and has been Director of the Trieste Centre since its foundation.

It was in 1945 that Henry DeWolf Smyth's name became a houshold wordalthough he was noted as a scientist before then - with the publication of the Smyth Report on Atomic Energy. It explained much of what had, during the war years, been veiled in secrecy and undoubtedly stimulated even greater interest than hitherto in the potentialities of this new source of power. He was also one of the two men (the other being Dr. John A. Hall, now a Deputy Director General of the Agency) who advised President Eisenhower in preparing his "Atoms for Peace" speech to the UN in 1953 from which the Agency developed. A native of the State of New York, he graduated from Princeton University, with which he has been associated ever since in teaching, research and administration. From 1949 to 1954 he was Commissioner of the US Atomic Energy Commission, and has filled a number of consulting roles to help in developing nuclear power sources and policies for peaceful utilization of that power. Since 1961 he has been US Representative to the Agency and a member of the Board of Governors, where his guidance and views have always commanded attention. During the same period he has been an adviser to the US State Department in matters concerning international agreements connected with the peaceful uses of nuclear energy.

This is the eighth time awards have been made by trustees under an Atoms for Peace programme established as a memorial to Henry Ford and his son Edsel in response to President Eisenhower's appeal at Geneva in 1955 for international efforts to develop nuclear energy for peaceful purposes. Other recipients have been the late Niels Bohr, of Denmark; George C. de Hevesy, Sweden; Eugene P. Wigner and the late Leo Szilard of USA, jointly; Alvin M. Weinberg and Walter H. Zinn of USA, jointly; the late Sir John Cockcroft, UK; Edward M. McMillan, USA, and the late Vladimir I. Veksler, USSR, jointly; and Bertrand L. Goldschmidt, France, W. Bennett Lewis, Canada, and Isidor I. Rabi, USA, jointly.

In announcing the awards the Chairman of the Trust, Dr. James R. Killian, Jr., said that the IAEA provides the most important channel for