how npt progressed

Details are given here of the chronology of ratifications (dates on which the necessary confirmations were deposited) and a list of signatures of the Treaty on Nuclear Non-Proliferation at the time of going to press. States which are not members of the Agency are marked with an asterisk.

Non-nuclear weapon states

1.	Ireland	1 July 1968
2.	Nigeria	27 Sept 1968
3.	Denmark	3 Jan 1969
4.	Canada	8 Jan 1969
5.	Cameroon	8 Jan 1969
6.	Mexico	21 Jan 1969
7.	Finland	5 Feb 1969
8.	Norway	5 Feb 1969
9.	Ecuador	7 March 1969
10.	Mauritius *	8 April 1969
11.	Botswana *	28 April 1969
12.	Mongolia, Dem. Rep.*	14 May 1969
	Hungary	27 May 1969
14.	Poland	12 June 1969
15.	Austria	28 June 1969
	Iceland	18 July 1969
17.	CSSR	22 July 1969
	Bulgaria	5 Sept 1969
19.	New Zealand	10 Sept 1969
20.	Syria	24 Sept 1969
21.	Iraq	29 Oct 1969
	Germany, Dem. Rep.*	31 Oct 1969
	Swaziland *	11 Dec 1969
	Nepal *	5 Jan 1970
	Sweden	9 Jan 1970
26.	China, Rep. of	27 Jan 1970

27.	Iran	2 Feb 1970
28.	Afghanistan	4 Feb 1970
29.	Romania	4 Feb 1970
30.	Paraguay	4 Feb 1970
31.	Ethiopia	5 Feb 1970
32.	Malta *	6 Feb 1970
33.	Jordan	11 Feb 1970
34.	Cyprus	16 Feb 1970
35.	Laos *	20 Feb 1970
36.	Togo *	26 Feb 1970
	Tunisia	26 Feb 1970
[°] 38.	Yugoslavia	3 March 1970
39.	Upper Volta*	3 March 1970
40.	Costa Rica	3 March 1970
41.	Peru	3 March 1970
42.	Malaysia	5 March 1970
43.	Jamaica	5 March 1970
44.	Mali	5 March 1970
45.	Liberia	5 March 1970
46.	Somali, Rep.*	5 March 1970
47.	Greece	11 March 1970

Depository Governments

UK	27 Nov 1968
USA	5 March 1970
USSR	5 March 1970

The following States had signed, but not ratified, the Treaty as the Bulletin went to press:

Africa and the Middle East

Chad * Congo, Dem. Rep. Dahomey * Gambia * Ghana	Ivory Coast Kenya Kuwait Lebanon Lesotho *	Libyan Arab Republic Madagascar Morocco Senegal	Southern Yemen* Sudan United Arab Republic Yemen Arab Republic*			
The Americas						
Barbados * Bolivia Colombia Dominican Republic	El Salvador Guatemala Haiti	Honduras* Nicaragua Panama	Trinidad and Tobago* Uruguay Venezuela			
Asia and the Pacific						
Australia Ceylon Indonesia	Japan Korea, Rep. of	Maldive Islands * Philippines	Singapore Viet-Nam, Rep. of			
Europe						
Belgium Germany, Fed. Rep. of	Italy Luxembourg	Netherlands San Marino *	Switzerland Turkey			

Dragon trees grow only in the Canary Islands. This specimen on Teneriffe is accepted as being 3000 years old, the age having been fixed by isotopic investigation.

