THE NEW BOARD OF GOVERNORS

The composition of the IAEA Board of Governors for 1961-62 was completed with the election of five new Members at the last session of the General Conference. The Conference elected Colombia, Greece, Hungary, Pakistan and Viet-Nam to serve a two-year term on the Board of Governors. They succeed Bulgaria, Ceylon, Mexico, the Philippines and Spain, which had been elected for a two-year term at the third session of the General Conference in 1959.

The Board of Governors at present consists of 23 Member States, of which 13 are designated by the outgoing Board and 10 are elected by the General Conference. The designation of 13 Members, which is made annually by the Board itself, is based on certain geographical and technical criteria specified in the Agency's Statute. The other 10 Members are elected by the General Conference in such a way as to ensure proper representation of different areas on the Board as a whole.

The 13 designated Members of the present Board are Australia, Brazil, Canada, Czechoslovak Socialist Republic, France, India, Japan, Portugal, South Africa, Sweden, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, the United Kingdom and the United States of America.

At its last session the General Conference elected only five Members, since five others (Argentina, El Salvador, the Federal Republic of Germany, Iraq and Thailand) had been elected the previous year for a two-year term and continue to be Members during this year.

The Governors on the newly constituted Board are: Mr. O. Quihillalt (Argentina), Mr. A. D. McKnight (Australia), Professor M. D. Souza Santos (Brazil), Mr. M. H. Wershof (Canada), Dr. T. A. Marulanda (Colombia), Mr. J. Fuksa (Czechoslovak Socialist Republic), Mr. E. Suárez C. (El Salvador), Dr. B. Goldschmidt (France), Mr. W. SchulteProfessor Lajos Janossy (Hungary), Vice-Chairman



At its first meeting, in October 1961, the new Board of Governors unanimously elected Dr. Baqir Husain Hasani of Iraq as its Chairman, and Professor Lajos Janossy of Hungary and Dr. I. H. Usmani of Pakistan as Vice Chairmen.

* The name of the Governor from Greece had not been announced at the time of going to press.



Dr. Baqir Husain Hasani (Iraq), Chairman, IAEA Board of Governors, 1961-62

Dr. 1.H. Usmani (Pakistan), Vice-Chairman



28