BOARD OF GOVERNORS ENLARGED



Prof. C. Salvetti (Italy) Chairman of the Board, 1963-64



Prof. H. Hulubei (Romania) Vice - Chairman



Ambassador F. Uchida (Japan) Vice-Chairman

Professor Carlo Salvetti, of Italy, was elected Chairman by the Board of Governors of the International Atomic Energy Agency for 1963-64, when the new Board met for the first time on 2 October 1963. Professor Salvetti is Head of the Department of Nuclear Physics, University of Milan. He is also a member of the Executive Board of the Italian National Committee for Nuclear Energy (CNEN), President of the OECD Study Group on High Flux Reactors, and Italian Representative of the Working Group of the European Nuclear Energy Society. Formerly he was Director of the IAEA Division of Research.

The Vice-Chairmen of the new Board are Professor Horia Hulubei of Romania, and Mr. Fujio Uchida of Japan. Professor Hulubei is a Member of the Academy of Romania, Director of the Romanian Institute of Nuclear Physics, and a member of the Romanian Atomic Energy Commission. Mr. Uchida is Japanese Ambassador to Austria, and IAEA Governor from Japan.

The election of seven new members at the seventh session of the General Conference in October 1963 increased the membership of the Board of Governors from 23 to 25. This resulted from a decision of the General Conference in 1961, designed to provide more equitable representation for Africa and the Middle East. The necessary amendment to the Agency's Statute came into force in January 1963, when the

requisite number of instruments of acceptance had been deposited. The Conference elected Uruguay, Morocco, the Congo (Leopoldville), Romania, Afghanistan, China and Switzerland, for two years. The five States elected at the 1962 General Session remain members of the Board for the current year. They are Brazil, Indonesia, Iran, Italy and Mexico. The remaining 13 members are designated by the outgoing Board in the light of technical and geographical criterialaid down in the Statute. The designated members for the current year are Argentina, Australia, Canada, Czechoslovak Socialist Republic, France, India, Japan, Norway, Portugal, South Africa, USSR, United Kingdom and USA.

* Name not received at time of going to press