haviour. Numerous good checks between experiment and theory have been achieved - for example, in the Phoenix experiments in the UK, and in the Levritron and ALICE experiments in the US. Such agreements did not exist in any laboratory results in 1958, and these are a strong indication of the growing maturity of plasma science.

We cannot be absolutely sure that controlled thermonuclear power can be developed, although the general feeling at the Conference is that this will be accomplished at some time - perhaps before the end of the century. Certainly the benefit - essentially unlimited power for the earth's population - is one we cannot overlook."

THE NEW BOARD OF GOVERNORS



Mr. H.M. Tohamy (UAR), Vice-Chairman



Miss Blanche Margaret Meagher (Canada), Chairman of the Board, 1964-65



Mr. W.O. Billig (Poland), Vice-Chairman

Miss Blanche Margaret Meagher was elected chairman of the IAEA Board of Governors for 1964-65, after the new Board had been constituted at the Eighth Session of the General Conference in September. Since 1962 Miss Meagher has been Canadian Ambassador to Austria, and Canadian Governor of the Agency. Miss Meagher joined the Canadian Department of External Affairs in 1942, and has held a number of foreign diplomatic appointments; she has also served on Canadian delegations to the UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, the International Telecommunication Union, the Economic and Social Council of UN and the UN Disarmament Sub-Committee.

The Vice-Chairmen of the Board are Mr. Wilhelm Billig (Poland) and Mr. Hassan M. Tohamy

(UAR). Mr. Billig is Chairman of the State Council for Atomic Energy, and High Commissioner for Peaceful Uses of Atomic Energy. Mr. Tohamy is Ambassador to Austria, and Resident Representative to the Agency.

Of the twelve elected members of the Board, five were chosen by the General Conference in 1964 for two years, viz. Argentina, Chile, Netherlands, Thailand and the United Arab Republic. Seven were elected in 1963: Afghanistan, China, Congo (Leopold-ville), Morocco, Romania, Switzerland and Uruguay. The remaining thirteen members have been designated by the Board: Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Finland, France, India, Japan, Poland, South Africa, USSR, United Kingdom and United States.